• 8 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 months ago by Raff
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

#1 6 months ago

Hi All,
My Surfer used to change which Add bonus rollover was lit up when the spinner spun but no longer does. I cleaned and checked the spinner contacts but that didn't help. I recently tweaked the AX relay is it possible that is the culprit or should I look elsewhere. Any advice or direction is greatly appreciated.

#2 6 months ago

Does the AS relay still spin properly when the spinner spins? Does the spinner still score points?

#3 6 months ago
Quoted from Blue-el34:

... Any advice or direction is greatly appreciated.

Do you have the schematic? If not, get one.

#4 6 months ago

zacaj
I found the KS relay with the dried remains of a rubber band around it's spring. This appears to be the problem.
Thank you for the direction.

#5 6 months ago

HowardR
Thanks, I do have the schematic but I'm still learning how to read it. Thanks to zacaj I now can see on the schematic that the KS relay is the obvious starting point and is indeed the problem. Thank you for your patience with a pinball noob.

#6 6 months ago

on the circuit board connected to the ks relay there is two sides , one side only controls the add bonus light , undo the two screws holding the spring take it off ,then the washer then the double sided pivots , use some circuit board cleaner give the board a good clean, then with some sand paper giver the two pivots a clean, that pivot arm give it a little bend to make sure it is making contact with board then put it back together the same way you take it off, and check it with a dmm to make sure its making contact , make sure when you put the spring arm back on that its not to tight on or the pivot arm wont move freely around

#7 6 months ago

Raff thank you I will give this a go next time I am servicing it but for now its playing well.

PS