Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Webbing (resized).jpg
IMG_6118 (resized).jpg
IMG_6117 (resized).jpg
IMG_6116 (resized).jpg
#1 7 years ago

This is my first attempt to splatter paint a cabinet. I lightly applied the paint with an airbrush at 50psi. I received recommendations from "boilerman" regarding the paint type. Many Thanks!!

Now moving forward and will apply the "Pinball Pimp" stencils. I hope one coat of red and blue will cover the splatter paint.

IMG_6116 (resized).jpgIMG_6116 (resized).jpg
IMG_6117 (resized).jpgIMG_6117 (resized).jpg
IMG_6118 (resized).jpgIMG_6118 (resized).jpg

#2 7 years ago

What kind of paint did he say to use? I will be starting a cabinet restoration soon?

#3 7 years ago

There are so many similarities between your cabinet and the Petacos Pinball I am restoring (Recel Lady Luck restoration) that it is obvious that Petacos used Gottlieb cabinets and hardware. The main difference is that they did their Spanish cabinets with wood particles boards...Yikes.

Yves

#4 7 years ago

Looks as good as the testor's paint + model glue I tried, probably a lot less messy to clean the airbrush.
Is this using http://www.bohning.com/fletch-lac-gloss-lacquer/?

#5 7 years ago

The paint is Krylon Marbelizing Spray in black lava. It comes in a 4 oz rattle can. I sprayed the contents into a jar and let sit for awhile for the gas to dissipate. The jar will be frosted from the propellant. I then practiced with the airbrush to get what I felt was a decent flow.

That front panel is a recent fabrication. The original was junk. I have a cabinet maker that did that for me with birch plywood. Came out great!

1 year later
#6 6 years ago