Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

4P startup issue (resized).jpg
IMG_0338 (resized).jpg
IMG_0337 (resized).jpg
#1 2 years ago

Good Afternoon Pinside,

Full transparency, I am a newbie, so I will try to describe in as much detail as I can. I have a 70s Gottlieb Far Out pin and have run into a curious problem. I cannot restart a new game after having four players selected. It doesn't matter if i finish a game with all for players or if I select four players, never finish all balls and power the machine off, the same issue pops up. After either, when pressing the add player button, the Start Relay switch does not engage to reset the game (photo attached of Start Relay). I have to go in and manually engage the Start Relay at this point and it resets. If I select 1-3 players, all works as normal and the Start Relay engages, resetting all of the switches in the control bank.

I have the schematic, have checked all fuses and where possible checked continuity on coils. The switches all seem to be gapped correctly. I have not de-soldered any of the coils in the control bank as of yet.

Hoping someone might be able to point me in the right direction

Thanks,
JP

IMG_0337 (resized).jpgIMG_0337 (resized).jpgIMG_0338 (resized).jpgIMG_0338 (resized).jpg
#2 2 years ago

The first suspect is this switch on ZB. If it is open and PB4 is tripped from playing a previous 4P game, the V and S relays will not activate when the replay button is pressed.

That switch on ZB should be closed (ZB should be tripped) after power up and after the 1st player scores in any game.

Try using a jumper to short it and see if the issue goes away.

4P startup issue (resized).jpg4P startup issue (resized).jpg
#3 2 years ago

DaMoib Thank you. I will give it a go!

#4 2 years ago

DaMoib Thanks again!

I was able to spend a little time on the machine last night and wanted to update in the thread.