4 years ago

Topic Stats

• 10 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by dgAmpGuy
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20200224_140344 (resized).jpg
    20200224_140355 (resized).jpg
    20200224_140409 (resized).jpg
    #1 4 years ago

Hello all,
    This is my first post and I'm a 100% noob at this, so apologies in advance if I'm posting in the wrong area and thanks in advance for any help received..

I've been asked to look at a vintage Gottlieb machine for a neighbour. Pre 1973 machine.

We can see that there are some damaged leaf switches and just looking to source a couple of replacements.

I'm just a general electrician, capable of swapping the obvious broken bits, but I know nothing about pinball machines and struggling to identify the correct spares. Not knowing the correct terminology for the various bits is making a google search a bit cumbersome..

Would any kind forum member be able to point me in the right direction?

Pics attached of poorly parts..

20200224_140344 (resized).jpg20200224_140344 (resized).jpg20200224_140355 (resized).jpg20200224_140355 (resized).jpg20200224_140409 (resized).jpg20200224_140409 (resized).jpg
    #2 4 years ago

Rich
    I don’t see that much uncommonly wrong with those switch blades.

Since this is your first EM machine, I highly recommend going to Pinwiki and read up on repairing EM machines.

If you don’t want to do that, with the machine powered off, tighten each screw that holds a switch stack ( you will develop a feel for what is good and what is loose), then clean each set of contacts by pulling a business card through each set of contacts when they are in the closed position. You will have to trip some switches to get a set of contacts to close.
    When I do this, I will also check each set of contacts with a meter to make sure they make and break.