• Latest reply 10 months ago by BlackSheep
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

pasted_image (resized).png
#1 11 months ago

I have just inherited 2 pinball machines, Cross Town 1966 Gottlieb and Sharpshooter 1979 Game Plan, from my Uncle Mickey in Chicago. I managed to drive them to Southeastern Massachusetts and set them up. Both turn on and Sharpshooter plays well (a few broken tabs and I already fixed a flipper) but Cross Town's score motor keeps going round and round and round. It plays while the score motor keeps turning, but no scores register and the game never ends, I assume because the score motor needs to reset (stop going around) before the game can actually start. I have a schematic, which I don't really understand. I am a beginner.

Also, someone has put in an alligator clip wire going from the 110 volts main fuse to the transformer. Without this the alligator in place the machine won't even turn on - hopefully I can figure it out!

#2 11 months ago

I'm guessing that the alligator clip is because the wire from the fuse block to the transformer is open somewhere.

As far as the motor continually running, the machine is not seeing something not ready to go. Do all of the score reels go to zero? Are all of the stepper units able to move crisply? Does the credit wheel decrement?

I recommend you read up on EM repairs on Pinwiki before starting this journey.

#3 11 months ago
Quoted from BlackSheep:

Cross Town's score motor keeps going round and round and round.

Which of these switches/relays is keeping the score motor going round and round and round?

pasted_image (resized).pngpasted_image (resized).png
#4 11 months ago

Just to add, I don't think an alligator clip carrying 120V is a good idea at all. Get that puppy soldered or find out why it's there in the first place. Thank you, now I'll get back to drinking my Torpedo IPA...

#5 11 months ago
Quoted from Billc479: