Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

4 Square pop bumper coils (resized).jpg
IMG_1179 (resized).jpg
IMG_1174 (resized).jpg
#1 5 years ago

Hi guys,
I am still troubleshooting why my pinball machine tilts as soon as the ball hits a pop up bumper. I took the playfield off so that I could get a better look. I see that one of the bumper solenoids is burned pretty bad (see pics). Since there is no manual available, I am not sure what the part number is. Does anyone know? I think if I replace it, it should stop tilting, but it's a guess and I am new to all this. I appreciate any tips.
Thanks!

IMG_1174 (resized).jpgIMG_1174 (resized).jpgIMG_1179 (resized).jpgIMG_1179 (resized).jpg
#2 5 years ago

Cut the single wire going to the tab on that solenoid. If game no longer tilts, you verified your problem. Get coil number off of another bumper coil or the schematic or from a Gottlieb Parts Catalog.

Or call Pinball Resource to buy one.

#3 5 years ago

Thanks! I have a parts catalog, but there are many solenoids and the Gottlieb catalog doesn't specify which one you need for each machine. Mine is so badly burned I don't think I will see a number. Even the other doesn't appear to have a number on it.

#4 5 years ago

4 Square calls for A-4893 coils for the pop bumpers:
4 Square pop bumper coils (resized).jpg4 Square pop bumper coils (resized).jpg
If you order a new one, you'll probably want a new coil sleeve and possibly a new coil stop, a metal and/or fibre yoke, etc.

/Mark

#5 5 years ago

Looks to me like the tilt switch blade with the round weight on it is touching the tab on the centre pop bumper ? I dont think a heated coil would cause a tilt. If the pop bumper still fires just replace the sleeve

#6 5 years ago