(Topic ID: 141593)

Gottleib Big Broadcast Special....information please.

By pindoc1

8 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 8 years ago

I have been collecting pins for almost 20 years, all solid state games. Recently I was given a 1933 Big Broadcast Special. It is in pretty good condition (and works). I would like to restore it and I am looking for information and a possible source for parts.

The problems:
    1. The legs are missing. I think there were some originally as the original ads state that all models came with legs, even the Special table top model. Also, there are screw holes in the cabinet where the leg screws would go. A source, or even just pictures and dimensions would be appreciated.
    2. I am not sure the shooter rod is original. The ball lift button is orange plastic like I have seen in some pictures but the shooter rod knob is grey metal and cylinder shaped. There is no nylon tip on it. The tip is mushroomed but there are factory cut radial scores at the tip.
    3. All of the mechs (working penny coin mech, ball lift and shooter rod housing and knob) on the front are an unfinished rough dull grey metal. The pictures and flyers show shiny chrome. What is correct?
    4. What is the finish on the playfield and what is the best way to clean and preserve it?
    5. The cabinet is painted black (original, I think) and scratched and worn. Not terrible but not pretty. Is it better to just clean and leave as is or sand, fill and repaint?
    6. The ball lift will sometimes spit out 2 balls instead of 1 and sometimes the ball will just bounce back down. Any suggested fix for this?
    7. The lock is missing.
    8. The bottom panel is delaminating.
    9. The shooter spring seems a little weak.