You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

File Dec 19, 4 46 06 PM (resized).jpeg
20171218_110826 (resized).jpg

#1 3 years ago

Hello,

I recently bought my first pinball machine, and while i got a great deal, the machine has s few issues. First, only the ones digit on the score reel works. The tens and hundreds do not. Also, the second player reel doesn't function and the ball counting mechanism and associated bell are not working either. I'm a complete newby, but I would love to tinker with it and get it fully working. Any suggestions are appreciated.

#2 3 years ago

Everything you need to know is here:
http://www.pinrepair.com/em/index.htm

But, sounds like you need to inspect/clean several stepper units (score reels, balls played unit). I'd inspect, manually advance (and reset if appropriate) each one using the plungers. Clean (perhaps disassemble) each one as needed for proper operation. Put a score on each score reel and start a game - do all reels reset to 0? Do things score properly when you manually actuate the 1 pt N-relay? 10 pt M-relay? 100 pt Q-relay? Are the adjacent score reels carrying over properly from 9 to 0?

Maybe post a video?

Also, here's what I would do for any new project:

- post your location so a local can help if needed
- unplug machine
- inspect the line cord for nicks; repair with tape if needed
- inspect line cord for a good plug end; replace plug end if needed
- pull each fuse, test if good with a multimeter
- read each fuse and ensure they are the proper value (they never are)
--- you want the same "blow rate", same amperage and same or higher voltage rating
--- see fuse table below
- insert fuses and ensure fuse clips are still grabbing well
- manually advance each stepper and score reel by actuating step-up plunger
--- if the steppers have a reset plunger, actuate by hand also
--- if they are not mechanically moving well (and resetting *fully*), clean them til they do