• 17 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 years ago by Prmailers
  • Topic is favorited by 4 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

DSC09359.JPG
There are 51 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
#1 12 years ago

Hello all,
I am new to pins.. and 1979 Williams Gorgar is my first.. Pics are posted in the "All Pinball" section if interested here:
http://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/hello-all-first-pinball-gorgar

Now to my problems, after replacing a couple of fuses on my machine.. I have the machine almost working.. but the problem I am having now is with the Solenoids..

After looking at the fuses.. I noticed that there is a 2.5A fuse for the Solenoids.. it "Looked" OK.. but I ran a continuity tester on it, and it was blown! .. answering why the Solenoids are not working.. now, I replaced the fuse, not once, but twice with a 3A fuse.. and it still blew just after being turned on for a couple of seconds.

So, now the question is.. Why is it still blowing? is there something like a faulty bridge that is causing this? Please help! What do I need to do to get this working?

#2 12 years ago
Quoted from justjoe13:

What do I need to do to get this working?

Find out why the fuse is blowing, and fix it.

First, disconnect everything on that fuse from the board, put a new fuse in, and turn it on. If it blows when you do that, the problem is on the power board (could be a number of things, this is beyond my expertise).

If it doesn't blow when you have the solonoids disconnected, then there's a short in the wiring or within a solonoid that it's trying to fire on startup (not sure of Gorgar is supposed to do that - some pins will do that on start up, and many will do that if a switch is broken and tells the game the ball is somewhere it shouldn't be).