IMG_4182 (resized).JPG
IMG_4181 (resized).JPG
IMG_4179 (resized).JPG
IMG_4178 (resized).JPG
IMG_4176 (resized).JPG
bitmoji-20170718025611 (resized).png
spiderman-web-installed-small (resized).jpg
rps20170427_215314 (resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider Richthofen.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#139 7 years ago

So I am a software engineer, but I have no knowledge of Stern's actual development process. But if I am guessing:

While the SPIKE core system stays the same, each game has a new set of mechs and configuration of hardware (lights, switches, etc) I'd imagine that each feature and toy is what they end up coding before the release, individually. Then they run that software plus the mechs in that test room for hours and iterate over the mechs. Then you gotta put all those individual items together in a game and get the rules and lights working minimally to ship. At any time if the mechs are delayed you are holding up the rest of the dev on that game, and you have to know ASAP whether the mech is a go or no go, or requires key mechanical or software redesign. Because if the original concept for toy A needs a major rework then the art team needs redesign, and the licensors might need new approval, and playfields can't be cut until all that shit is figured out.