Topic Stats

• 14 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 years ago by madcow
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 11 years ago

I'm completely new to this stuff, I am actually about to go buy a soldering iron and teach myself how to do that to fix a 4-5 lamps that need to be resoldered, but my GI string 2 is completely out. I'm sure it's not the fuse because I swapped it out with another one and it's still out.

Is there anything I can do without a multimeter? I'm assuming no, but I can't really afford one right now.

If that's the only way to find what I'm assuming is a broken connector or wire (?) then I will try and find one or scrounge together some cash...

Thanks guys!

#2 11 years ago

Did you check each fuse with your meter ?

Did you measure AC GI power and see if it leaving the board ?

That can help you get pointed where power stops and what to do next.

LTG

#3 11 years ago

Go to walmart and buy a sub $10 meter. It will be plenty fine for basic voltage/continuity tests.

However, if you want to make a voltage tester, just take a known good bulb and solder two wire leads to it...One on the bottom and one on the side. Make the leads long. Then ground one of the leads and you can start testing the GI wires with the other lead. If the bulb lights you have voltage. Don't touch it to higher voltage (solenoids) or you'll get a nice bulb flash as it burns out.

Start at the fuse, then the connector and work your way through to the playfield.

#4 11 years ago
Quoted from LTG:

He no have

#5 11 years ago

which pin? If it's more than 20 years old, my guess is a bad IDC connector (lots of pins in that era over-drove the power, so connectors get stressed). Heck, it might not even be bad, sometimes the pins get loose. GI lighting is usually pretty clearly marked on the CPU

#6 11 years ago
Quoted from toyotaboy: