4 years ago

Topic Stats

• 32 posts
  • 17 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by kangourou
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

There have been 7 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

3.jpg
    2.jpg
    1.jpg
    postwht1.jpg
    popcap1.jpg
    20141214_184513.jpg
    20141120_194802.jpg

#1 4 years ago

OK, i know there was a post for this, but searchin produces "0" found, so...
    I need to get some play field posts, and some bowler pins white again.
    How do I do it?
    Thanks

#2 4 years ago

Can't speak for bowler pins, but playfields posts I would paint with Krylon Fusion.

#3 4 years ago

Variety of ways to do this, depending on how yellowed the posts are (I have no experience with bowler pins, though) -- and it's possible (short of actcually painting them) they won't get totally white.

I like to give the posts a good spray with Krud Kutter and a scrubbing with a toothbrush, followed by a run through my ultrasonic cleaner (more Krud Kutter, a touch of Dawn Dishwashing liquid and water).

Tim Meighan, an expert restorer in my area, also uses toothpaste (it's a soap) on plastic parts without artwork and they come out really nice.

Again, short of painting or buying new ones from PBR or Marco, they might not return to true white. But the approach above has been good enough for me.

#4 4 years ago

Retr0brite works sometimes from what I've read--it's a mix of high-percentage hydrogen peroxide and oxy and UV light.

Unfortunately, I haven't had any success myself, but I might need to try it with an actual UV light, rather than just relying on sunlight.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Retr0bright
    http://retr0bright.wikispaces.com/

I seem to remember someone using this method on the big skull from a Williams No Fear a while back, but I can't seem to locate the thread.