Topic Stats

• 12 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 10 days ago by Wizbangdoodle
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 11 days ago

Ok, I'm a noob, as I've just purchased my first 2 pins. I'm already experiencing a few problems and was looking into cleaning contacts. I started by reading through the stickies at the top of the forum, followed some links and have a good idea how to proceed.

My question is: How do you tell the difference between contact types? From what I've read, each material type takes a little bit different cleaning.

#2 11 days ago
Quoted from Wizbangdoodle:

How do you tell the difference between contact types? From what I've read, each material type takes a little bit different cleaning.

Solid state games usually have contacts you clean by putting a piece of paper between the contact points, gently hold closed and pull the paper out. So you don't sand or wear of the plating. With the exception of flipper button leaf blades and EOS switches until the fliptronics era. Those burn, you can see if on used ones. Blades are tungsten and meant to be filed.

EM games are higher power and can be sanded or filed.

https://www.pinballlife.com/williamsbally-flipper-leaf-switch-double-contact.html look at this leaf blade switch, the kind of silver covered part of the contact is tungsten.

LTG : )

#3 11 days ago

This forum is full of posts from people who tried shotgun cleaning & adjustments, and caused more problems than they were originally trying to solve.
What to do instead: Slowly and carefully diagnose one problem at a time and then fix only that.
http://www.pinrepair.com/em/index2.htm#clean

#4 11 days ago

Haven't seen that macro in awhile

#5 11 days ago