4 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Inser damage #2 (resized).jpg
#1 4 years ago

I am researching before I am going ahead with my first pinball restoration. It is my Whitewater and among other things, it needs airbrush and new water slide decals on chipped inserts. I know you can purchase a decal set for inserts and Wet Willies (don't know about the quality though), but it doesn't cover all I need; picture example 'BIG FOOT HOT FOOT'.

So my question for forum is this: Do some of you use any good freeware design software to make your files to print water slides on? I know you can use Illustrator/photoshop software. But the license is so expensive. And I guess for making decals that software must be a bit like 'shooting a bird with a cannon' - a lot more features than you need? I have come across names on freeware like GIMP, BoxySVG and others. But I am a rookie, so I am not sure exactly what I am looking for. One important feature I guess must be adding text in different fonts?

This is why I call out for your help.

In advance, thank you forum for your kind help

Best regards, Thomas

Inser damage #2 (resized).jpgInser damage #2 (resized).jpg
#2 4 years ago

I use Inkscape. Not exactly easy to use but it does the job assuming you want vectorized artwork. I also use a Doxie scanner, and the HP 4670. GIMP I find impossible to use!

#3 4 years ago

The good software typically has a learning curve. For freeware, I find GIMP to be the most similar in function and form to Photoshop. GIMP will pretty much do everything you throw at it, but it will take you a bit of Googling for awhile to get used to it.

#4 4 years ago

dr_nybble and ralphwiggum thank you for your advice. Since the German forum has the same advice regarding Incscape, I guess I will throw my attention on that, for starters.

BTW, do you have links for good quality water slides? I have been warned against Chines products.

Have a great weekend.