New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 279687)

FPII Solenoids Not Firing

By JakeJones07

3 days ago

Topic Stats

• 12 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 day ago by Spybryon
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 6 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

5E1BB7AF-4E71-4729-869F-8EC76FDF1635 (resized).jpeg
switch-trigger-solenoid (resized).JPG
16029532186223908498324784820306 (resized).jpg
16029531706516448564327895516503 (resized).jpg
IMG_20201017_114417 (resized).jpg
C1E35FCD-8E54-4E5C-A27C-93056489F601 (resized).jpeg

#1 3 days ago

I am new to the pinball world and recently picked up a FPII and it’s worked great for the last few months. However, I accidentally left it on for about 15 hours.

I can start a new game (ball gets kicked up to the plunger and games score correctly. However, flippers, pop bumpers, and sling solenoids will not fire (ball lock eject does work). I have 60ish volts on the flippers and 30v on the other solenoids.All fuses check OK and I reseated all driver board connectors.

The only other symptom I can determine is the board diagnostics says error “9” which corresponds to an issue the the coin door, memory protect fault, or IC19. DMM says Coins door works and game seems to remember settings. So I think this might be a red herring.

Anyone have an idea on what I can check next? Maybe a ground someplace or header to reflow?

Edit: I reviewed the device manual in more detail. It looks like the attached connector is suspect. I’ll reflow here. Any idea where ground is returned?

C1E35FCD-8E54-4E5C-A27C-93056489F601 (resized).jpeg
#2 2 days ago