(Topic ID: 194186)

For the uneducated - What has happened to this coil?

By swampy

6 years ago

Topic Stats

• 10 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by swampy
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 11.58.46 AM (resized).png
IMG_4983 (resized).JPG
IMG_4982 (resized).JPG

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider swampy.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 6 years ago

I've just pulled this out of a Gottlieb Solar Ride. I'm not experienced with these things, so can someone enlighten me with what is happening inside? This coil is removed from the right side hole-kicker mechanism. The whole mechanism (not surprisingly) was seized.

I will obviously need to replace it. Can someone please confirm the exact coil I need to replace it with? A-16570?

Thanks all.

IMG_4982 (resized).JPGIMG_4982 (resized).JPG

IMG_4983 (resized).JPGIMG_4983 (resized).JPG

#3 6 years ago

Hey thanks. I believe the incorrect coil was installed. The failed coil was a A-1496 which is supposed to be used in the pops only, someone had installed it into the up-kicker. The other up-kicker is A-16570.

So would this incorrect coil have possibly caused damage on the driver board?

#5 6 years ago
Quoted from Ericpinballfan:

The other up-kicker is A-16570
Correct, this is the proper coil for up kicker, vuk on Gottlieb. Just went a looked at one for you.
No, a fuse would blow first before damage at driver board. This melted coil just got locked on for about 5 min, thats all it takes. Most likely a bent wire on switch to activate coil caused this. Seen it on many pins.