Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_0333 (resized).jpg
IMG_0338 (resized).jpg
IMG_0339 (resized).jpg
IMG_0331 (resized).jpg
#1 1 year ago

I'm very new to pinball repairs. I've worked at a small arcade for several years and learned a lot from trial and error but have no actual training on any of this.

I took this video showing the problems with the flippers (a short 26 second video posted to YouTube)

It appears to me that they are stuck for different issues. I believe I've narrowed it down to be mechanical, as they don't go back to their normal spot when I turned the power off. But the left one tries to activate still but just can't seem to move. The right one just gets stuck at the top and doesn't seem to do anything else at all until it gets shaken or bumped hard enough to fall back into home position.

I've already replaced the main parts of the right flipper, but it doesn't seem to have been the problem. The image shows the 3 parts I DID already swap out on the right flipper; the plunger, the sleeve, the flipper link. I didn't think the larger metal part was the problem. It worked again for a couple of weeks but now is getting stuck again.

Now that the left has it's own issue, and the right side is repeating its problem, it's clear I've made a mistake somewhere.

Any tips of what to swap next or what else I can do to fix it?

IMG_0331 (resized).jpgIMG_0331 (resized).jpg

#2 1 year ago

Let’s see a photo of of how the assemblies look on the bottom of your playfield. You always want to leave a little up down travel in the flipper when you reassemble them. If you don’t, they will bind between the flipper and the bushing causing the flipper to stick. So will about a half dozen other things. The photos would help a lot.

#3 1 year ago

Almost assuredly the coil stops. Stern is notorious for putting the shittyest cheapest mother fucking coil stops in these multi-thousand dollar games

#4 1 year ago
Quoted from MaxIsDead: