(Topic ID: 285706)

Flintstones resets during play

By ktuhde

3 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider ktuhde.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 3 years ago

I have a Flintstones that started to have an issue with resetting during gameplay. It shuts down and goes back to start a new game. Loses that game’s score and ball count.

It happens maybe one out of every three to five games played. It happens more frequently during multiball, but not every time. I played it a bunch today to try to see if I could determine when it happens. Hard to tell during multiball because so much is going on. But twice it happened with a single ball in play immediately after pushing the flipper button.

Can somebody please point me in the right direction? I’m not experienced at repair but I can follow directions to narrow it down. I don’t know how to use a multimeter, but I just bought one and ready to learn.

Thanks in advance. Kevin

#3 3 years ago

Thanks for the link. Now that I know what to search for I am finding a bunch of info here on pinside. Sometimes it’s hard to find the right topic through the search function. But if you keep digging there seems to be an answer to every problem somewhere in these forums. Thanks again.

#4 3 years ago

I wanted to write a follow up because every time I look at an old thread when searching I always wonder if the problem was resolved.

I went through and did a few things the pinwiki said are easy first steps. Reseating the connectors etc. The boards and connectors all look good. The display board looks like a new rotten dog board and the CPU is a Williams board, but must have been replaced because the inspection tag had a 1999 date.

I checked the voltage on the boards like it said to in the pinwiki The driver board TP2 was 4.94 and on the chip on the cpu board and it was 4.9. That seems to be within the ok range.