New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 142036)

"Flash" Williams 1979 Strobe light question plus other questions.

By Scrooloose

5 years ago

Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by DavidC
  • Topic is favorited by 3 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 8 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

ssr2.jpg
ssr.jpg
strobe.png
IMG_0426.jpg
IMG_0425.jpg
IMG_0430.jpg
IMG_0424.jpg
IMG_0423.jpg

#1 5 years ago

I am getting ready to pump some life into a Flash pinball machine. This is my 2nd pinball machine restoration project. The first one I did about 15 years ago was basically a cleanup and swap out each piece for piece. Pretty easy.

Now this one is different. Mind you I have very little electronics background but build computers all the time. I know there is a big margin there. This game that I picked up has all the schematics, prints and parts manuals.

So far I have a LED kit, lighted flipper buttons, 2 sets of LCD scoresboards, plunger. Will I need a new power supply for the LED"s?

Ok for the strobe question. I was in high school when this machine came out. Our local Malibu Grand Prix had one but what was different that it had a strobe light attached at the top of the back glass. Everytime the flash would go off the strobe would also flash. What would be needed (besides the strobe) to make this happen?

Thank you for your time. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am a noob when it comes to this. Enclosed is pictures. I have another question. The image with the 2 boards I notice that there is a maple coloured board that looks like either 3 fuses or batteries go in those slots. Which is it?

Again thank you all. =)

IMG_0423.jpg

IMG_0424.jpg

IMG_0430.jpg

IMG_0425.jpg

IMG_0426.jpg

#3 5 years ago