(Topic ID: 169990)

Fixing Sunken/Cupped inserts -Fingernail Polish?

By pinlink

7 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 40 posts
  • 14 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 years ago by CrazyLevi
  • Topic is favorited by 9 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 7 years ago

Currently trying to correct a few inserts. They are not so much sunken into the playfield, as much as they are just cupped or concaved. I have heard of using clear fingernail polish to correct this, but now I can't seem to find anything about it. Is this a good solution? I know its not the BEST solution, but will this work without damaging anything? I just don't want to mess with mixing and spraying clear if it is only a few inserts. Plus I have no experience with clear coat.

#2 7 years ago
    Quoted from pinlink:

I have heard of using clear fingernail polish to correct this, but now I can't seem to find anything about it. Is this a good solution?

Worst idea ever.

Do NOT do this.

https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/vids-guide-to-ultimate-playfield-restoration/page/17#post-1717646

#3 7 years ago

Is there a good (simple/quick) solution other than mixing and spraying clear? Thanks, Vid!

#4 7 years ago

Don't spray it, just drip it from an eyedropper

#5 7 years ago

Do you do this right before spraying on the rest of the clear?

#6 7 years ago
    Quoted from vid1900:

Don't spray it, just drip it from an eyedropper

Well that sounds easier and less stressful than spraying. Any recommendation on the clear? Is that something that can be picked up locally?

#7 7 years ago

PPG JC660 (or it's plain labeled cousin "Omni 161" )

Available at 3700 locations nationwide.

#8 7 years ago
    Quoted from patrickvc:

Do you do this right before spraying on the rest of the clear?

I usually re-paint the black keyline around the insert, then level the insert, then shoot the entire playfield (if needed).

#9 7 years ago