New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 247766)

Fixing/Restoring in a 1BR Apartment Living Room

By PatrickH

1 year ago

Topic Stats

• 9 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by Thrillhouse
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 1 year ago

Hi all, I'm new to pinball machine fixing / restoration and have recently come across the opportunity to inherit a 1973 Gottlieb Jumping Jack.

The machine definitely needs some work, so the first step would be getting it to play properly. I live in a 1BR apartment, am currently single (so no SO to say otherwise!), and am considering trying to fix this machine in my living room. Is this a bad idea? What am I getting into here?

In terms of actually fixing the machine, I'm not terribly worried. I'm fully prepared for the steep learning curve, hours of reading schematics, and lots of trial and error. I'm more concerned about trying to work on a machine in a carpeted living room... In my mind, I imagine keeping the machine next to my desk under a tarp to prevent things from getting dirty. Obviously if sanding/painting became essential down the line, I'd move these parts onto the balcony or do them elsewhere (I'm not THAT dense ). In the opinion of those of you with experience doing things like this, as far as debugging the machine and getting it to a working state goes, could I feasibly do all this work in my living room? Am I vastly underestimating how much of a "garage" project this might actually be?

#2 1 year ago
    Quoted from PatrickH:

Hi all, I'm new to pinball machine fixing / restoration and have recently come across the opportunity to inherit a 1973 Gottlieb Jumping Jack.