Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 11 posts
  • 8 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by jrpinball
  • Topic is favorited by 6 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 4 years ago

I live in a rural section of Central PA and like many here advertise on CL looking for project games and I also offer repair help if not over my head. Bally SS games are what I know best. I get responses now and then to buy games but lately I've gotten multiple requests to fix Gottlieb EM games with score motors running. I've owned a bunch but I'm not an expert with them. I've flipped repair work to Jim at JT Amusements since he's an expert and I am not and he travels here now and then.

In the last month, I got a call on a Super Score which the owner doesn't want to invest in the repair time so I listed it here for him. Next was a Buccaneer which was HUO for 40 years. Score motor running. Looked at it to buy and probably will. Score reels not resetting so I assume they're gummed up or something else. Tonight a Mibs same problem. Score reels reset and credit comes off when started. An hour later and guy called with a Pioneer same problem. Weird. That's more calls then the last 3 years combined.

Having studied multiple repair books I have and looked at everything I could find online, never saw a flow chart type diagnostic for this issue. I realize the start up sequence evolved over the years with Gottlieb Em's and I can do the basic stuff like cleaning switch contacts and so forth. I can follow the schematics some what but the jumper wire tests are never laid out in order. Am I missing a repair source (besides posting here, rather learn by doing)?

#2 4 years ago

I don't know that I've ever run across a flow chart for diagnosing an EM game. That's more of a software technique so maybe it only applies to SS games that do most of their math in software.