Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 42 posts
  • 29 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by quinntopia
  • Topic is favorited by 4 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_2198 (resized).JPG
    IMG_0351 (resized).JPG
    IMG_5969 (resized).JPG
    IMG_5968 (resized).JPG
    IMG_5964 (resized).JPG
    #1 6 years ago

At long last today I decided it was time to finish the clearcoat on my SF2 playfield.

I spent my spare time over the last few days setting up my spray booth. The last time I tried to paint in my shop, I think I got more paint in my shop than on my playfield.

IMG_5964 (resized).JPGIMG_5964 (resized).JPG

I mixed my paint like I have in the past, using Omni mc730 clear with mh738 hardener and mr295 reducer. It was a nice 65 degrees in the shop when I started painting.

I cleaned my playfield with naphtha (camping fuel here in California) and set my gun up for a heavy coat.

Then disaster stuck... Fisheye, and in a big way.
    IMG_5968 (resized).JPGIMG_5968 (resized).JPGIMG_5969 (resized).JPGIMG_5969 (resized).JPG

So what caused the contamination? I don't think it was the compressor, the air filters are almost new. My best working theory right now, is that the rags are used to clean the playfield were contaminated. I use recycled rags that have been washed. I might have picked up one that was used to wax a play field.

Does anyone else have any suggestions for avoiding fisheye in the future?

For now, it looks like I will have to start sanding it back down in a day or two.

#2 6 years ago

Wow. That stinks. Hopefully u can fix it.

#3 6 years ago

A couple ideas...

This really looks like you had water in your compressor...

Or- you sprayed at a really wrong temp for your activator. The chemistry is extremely temp sensitive.

#4 6 years ago