Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 12 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by Stueyt2
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 5 years ago

I have an issue on my fishtales with left boat exit, right boat entry, centre jet & top right loop, all stopped working, they are all in row 2 in switch matrix. Coin door closed is as well but is working.
    Playfield hasn't been lifted in a long time, just stopped working. I'm relatively new to pins and was wondering if anyone had any ideas where I should look first. Could It be a board issue?
    Thanks

#2 5 years ago

It could be a board issue, if not as simple as a bad wire at the row connector. Manually test directly at the CPU switch connectors with the following procedure. This will identify if there is a wiring/playfield problem or CPU problem.

Testing the Switch Rows (all WPC revisions).
    To test the switch rows, do the following:

Remove the backglass and fold down the display to gain access to the CPU board.
    Turn the game on.
    After the game boots, press the "Begin Test" button in the front door. Go to the Test menu's "Switch Levels" test.
    Unplug the connectors at J212, J206, J207, J208 and J209 (lower portion of the CPU board).
    Connect an alligator test lead to pin 1 of J207. Pin 1 is the right most pin, as facing the board.
    On the other end of the alligator test lead, clip on a 1N4004 diode, with the non-banded end away from the alligator lead. Touch the non-banded end of the diode to pin 1 of J209. Again, pin 1 is the right most pin, as facing the board.
    The display should show switch 11 is closed.
    Move the diode/alligator lead on J209 to the next pin. The display should show switch 12 is closed.
    Repeat the previous step, until pin 9 of J209. Switches 11 through 18 should be closed on the display as moving forward, pin by pin, on connector J209.