(Topic ID: 117639)

Fish Tales Reel Drive belt replacement instructions?

By Jesterfunhouse

9 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 9 years ago

Hey Everyone,

A friend of mine just got a new drive belt for his Fish Tales and asked if I could replace it for him. I have been checking for a good set of instructions on how to change the drive belt as I have heard this can be tricky. So far I not found any instructions on how to do it.

Does anyone know where they are posted or has anyone done this recently that can give me some basic step by steps. I have fixed a lot of machines so I am pretty handy and could probably figure it out I just don't want to reinvent the wheel. Pinside is always so helpful giving me tips or experienced help since this is my first time doing this particular task.

Thanks!

#2 9 years ago

You definitely have to take the reel down through the playfield. It's kind of a pain but you will see how to do it if you go slow.

#3 9 years ago

Reel comes down through the playfield. Also, I wouldn't use one of the correct belts for it. use a rubber instead. The original ones were a crappy eurothayne or something and they get brittle and hard very quick.

Clay always replaces them with a 3" rubber ring I think. Can't remember the exact size, but that's what I did on mine when I replaced it. If you are a Pinball Ninja subscriber he has a video or tutorial I think showing the replacement of it too.

#4 9 years ago
Quoted from pkiefert:

Reel comes down through the playfield. Also, I wouldn't use one of the correct belts for it. use a rubber instead. The original ones were a crappy eurothayne or something and they get brittle and hard very quick.
Clay always replaces them with a 3" rubber ring I think. Can't remember the exact size, but that's what I did on mine when I replaced it. If you are a Pinball Ninja subscriber he has a video or tutorial I think showing the replacement of it too.