• No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20180805_112838 (resized).jpeg
20180805_112850 (resized).jpeg
#1 5 years ago

I have been reading Pinside for a while, but I am a new member. I am also the proud new owner of a Fish Tales pinball machine, that I purchased a few months ago.

While I am a tech guy at heart and not scared to get my hands dirty, I am new to pinball ownership. Everything that I have fixed, or tried to fix, is from all of the helpful people on the forums. I had really hoped to find a solution to my problem without having to bother anybody. So far, I haven't been able to find a thread with a fix to my specific problem.

Since purchasing the machine, we have played it many, many times. Everything worked great, up until I started having issues with the game randomly shutting off. Without getting into too many details, I will say that due to a couple of issues, I ended up replacing the driver board with a new Rottendog board, along with a new Fliptronics replacement (also a Rottendog). I also had to replace a plug that was burnt.

Although a little expensive to replace, I didn't mind replacing the boards, since I plan on keeping this machine for a very long time, and understand that it is 26+ years old at this point.

After doing all of this, everything was working fine, except for I was getting a 'switch 36 error' upon testing at startup. During multiball, the catapult was slow to kick the balls back onto the playfield, but it had been fine before I started getting this error.

I did a switch edge test, and found that the switch wasn't registering. I replaced the diode and the switch, and no more error. The switch now registers in the test, but I seem to notice the same behavior in multiball.