P1020584.jpg
P1020596.jpg
P1020563.jpg
IMG_5166.jpg
IMG_5169.jpg
IMG_5159.jpg
P1020494.jpg
P1020499.jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider jgreene.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 10 years ago

I recently picked up a Fish Tales project game from a fellow Pinsider with plans to do a major restoration. I always get a kick out of following other's restoration threads so I've to try my hand at documenting my restoration here too. This is my first attempt at a restoration thread so bear with me if it totally sucks!

The Start:
I've done four game restorations/rehabs before this one. My first projects were shop jobs but my last two (T2 and HSII) were pretty major restorations so this will be my third 'major' project. I'm definitely not a pro restorer though! Hopefully I can pick up some ideas from others and maybe pass on some of the tips I've learned.

With Williams DMD games I like to look for projects with good bones - major assemblies complete, solid playfield (under the dirt), no major structural issues etc. In this case the game was a re-import that was absolutely filthy but otherwise basically complete and playable. The plastics were all there and the playfield was pretty good with pretty minor fish insert wear and only a couple minor wear areas elsewhere. The cab decals were in really nice condition - but completely blown out and faded.

P1020188.jpgP1020188.jpg P1020196.jpgP1020196.jpg P1020197.jpgP1020197.jpg P1020198.jpgP1020198.jpg P1020199.jpgP1020199.jpg

#2 10 years ago

The cab itself is solid with some easily repairable separation at one of the front corners. Typical dirt and grime buildup inside. Overall the underside of the pf is actually pretty clean considering the game's topside. I'll be doing full decals so the cab will get stripped down for refurb.