By MrFancy

4 days ago

Topic Stats

• 6 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 days ago by MrFancy
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 4 days ago

Hey what's up everybody! I'm moving from an apartment to a house and looking to buy my first machine. I'm in the DC-MD-VA area, looking to spend in the $750-$2000 range, or maybe a little more for a great deal. I've been doing my research and have found a lot of good advice here and elsewhere on the internet, still have a few questions though:

1. When an ad says there's some wear on the playfield, is that just a cosmetic thing or does it affect the game play? If it does affect game play, does it usually mean there are a couple of spots where the ball rolls a little funny, or can a worn playfield completely screw up the gameplay?

2. I'd like to learn how to take care of my machine, but I'm not very good at stuff like that and I don't have a good set of tools. Considering that I'm looking at an older machine, are there any that are particularly easy or hard to maintain?

3. I don't live too far from York, PA- would it be worth holding off until the show there in October? Would it be risky for me to buy a machine that way since I don't really know exactly what to look for in terms of damage, warning signs, etc.?

Thanks!

#2 4 days ago

shows are nice because you can play the game before buying and have a lot to choose from. Prices may be a bit higher though

Wear won't cause the ball to do crazy things, it's usually just cosmetic. Light inserts being cupped or raised will though, but at some level those are unavoidable on older games, and some people even think they're part of the charm.