• 2 posts
  • 2 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by emsrph
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 3 years ago

TL;DR: At bottom.

Well, I had some “fun” today. I picked up a Mata Hari a month back and have been slowly fixing pieces to get it back 100%.

The original back box knocker was missing (actually unwound completely) with just the lug wires hanging there loose.

I am new to the hobby and had not done much with repairs of this nature so I ordered a new coil from PBL. It came in last week and after putting it in and firing up the game, the fuse blew.

I did some reading and found out how to test the transistors on the solenoid board and found q3 (knocker) to be bad. Had to make another parts order.

Finally today I received the new tip102s. I replaced the bad one and fired the machine back up. Blew the fuse again. Ugh. Perhaps I wired the coil backward? I reversed the wires and turned machine back on and enjoyed a beautiful smoke show coming from the solenoid board.

I pulled the board and replaced the new blown tip102 and unhooked the coil. I started testing all the connections and couldn’t get continuity from j3 pin 4 to anywhere the schematic showed it should.

I finally started following the trace on the back of the board to see the smoke show was the trace burning off the board.

I spliced a new trace and got continuity.

Checked the brand new coil and it had a shorted diode. Replaced diode and everything fired up properly.

Sheesh...who would think to check a brand new coil and diode? I guess I will from now on. Happy first coil install!

TL;DR: Always check your diodes on coils. Oh, and make sure to turn off machine when soldering the wiring on coils...ouch.

#2 3 years ago

Wow, that was an adventure. Glad you got it fixed.

Promoted items from Pinside Marketplace and Pinside Shops!
Machine - For Sale
Pittsburgh, PA
$ 179.00
Cabinet - Other
Pinball Pimp

1,450 (OBO)
Machine - For Sale
Fredericksburg, VA
$ 48.00