You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

033.JPG
032.JPG
#1 13 years ago

Hi all

I'm currently shopping for my first machine, and I have a couple of tough choices to make. All the machines are roughly in the same shape, near mint for most of them. Locations vary greatly though.

My choices:
Indiana Jones 93' (would have to have it shipped from the States @ $525)
Theater of Magic (6 hours away, I could pick it up)
Twilight Zone (2.5 hours away, I could pick up)

Questions for you all:
Any idea what customs will ding me for bringing a machine up to Canada?
Of the three, which would you prefer? Game play wise.
Anyone have any dealings buying from the Mr. Pinball Classifieds?

They are all fairly close in cost (only 1K separates the lowest to highest). This will be my first pin. I will be looking to add a Creature to my collection as well.

Thanks in advance!

#2 13 years ago

Ok, I am not going to guess at what machine is the best as I am new to this as well.

I recently bought a Mousin Around in Depew New York. At the border if you pick it up its the standard 13% HST on the calculated Canadian Value. The calculated Canadian valve is what you paid for it in US funds converted to Canadian Dollars at the current exchange rate.

So $1000.00 US x 1.015% exchange = $1,015.00 CAN x 13% = $1146.00 total

Not sure where you are in Canada but I would have it shipped to a location close the border on the US side then go pick it up. Why? brokerage fees, you dont want to pay those.

If in Niagara I can give you an address to have them shipped to that offer very reasonable handing rates.

Good Luck

#3 13 years ago

With the choices and details given I would pick the TZ. Negotiate though some. Don't act like it's a must have it. Kinda like buying that used car. See which pickup will do the best deal. Sometimes they will meet you half way and transfer the machine. Welcome to our forum and thanks for asking our members advice.

#4 13 years ago