You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

pasted_image (resized).png

#1 3 years ago

I have a Firepower II machine. It was working fine and now I can't get a new game to start. I'm a total newbie when it comes to pinball ownership, so thanks for your help in advance. I have tried going through the diagnostics tests and when I get to the switch test it shows the #9 (outhole) switch is closed. If I pull the pinballs out then the switch is now open again. I'm stumped as to where to go from here. I did not run into any other diagnostic errors when cycling through everything. I also checked the CPU board and sound board self-tests and they all passed.
I've seen some things online about the trough switch, but I'm not sure it that's the issue since it seems to recognize the ball by showing the switch is closed. The previous owner mentioned this happened every now and again and showed me a wire that would get caught sometimes under the #10 switch (right ball ramp). I was able to successfully get it working a time or two using this trick, but unfortunately that doesn't seem to work anymore. And it was pretty obvious when that wire would catch. Now the wire is not caught. Thanks,

#2 3 years ago

Does the solenoid test fire each of the solenoids correctly?

If the balls aren't getting kicked from the outhole to the left & right ball ramps (switches 10+11), it won't start a game. If the balls are sitting on those 2 switches but they aren't coming up in the switch test, you'll need to take a closer look at those switches under the playfield to determine if they need to be adjusted or if a wire or diode broke off one of them or something else. Do all the other switches on the playfield work when activating them in switch test?

#3 3 years ago