View topic image gallery

B527B83E-EF9B-48EC-92BC-BF27CDE1B359 (resized).jpeg
C2B1018E-737F-4A74-932A-A598DE570A54 (resized).jpeg
display2 (resized).jpeg
display1 (resized).jpeg
missing display segment (resized).JPG
#1 5 years ago

Hi Pinside,
I recently picked up a F-14 Tomcat. When I got it home and set up, I noticed that the player 4 display is missing the "f" segment. Its consistent across the one display, and the other segments are nice and bright.
I tried removing the cable and connections from the display and reseating them back on, but it didn't change anything. Later tonight I will try to switch the connections for display 3 and 4 and see if the symptom switches to 3 and if 4 works perfectly. Until then, any advice on what I should be looking at fix the missing f segments? Maybe corrosion on a pin responsible for the f? maybe a poor ribbon cable? I'm pretty new to pinball machines so any help is appreciated.
Thanks!

missing display segment (resized).JPGmissing display segment (resized).JPG

display1 (resized).jpegdisplay1 (resized).jpeg

display2 (resized).jpegdisplay2 (resized).jpeg

#2 5 years ago

I had the display out to check its pins and board. Everything looks good, so I’m thinking it’s on the driver board maybe?

C2B1018E-737F-4A74-932A-A598DE570A54 (resized).jpegC2B1018E-737F-4A74-932A-A598DE570A54 (resized).jpeg

B527B83E-EF9B-48EC-92BC-BF27CDE1B359 (resized).jpegB527B83E-EF9B-48EC-92BC-BF27CDE1B359 (resized).jpeg

#3 5 years ago

Is the F segment out in display 3 too? Check the resistance of R-47 on the display driver board.

#4 5 years ago
Quoted from GRUMPY:

Is the F segment out in display 3 too? Check the resistance of R-47 on the display driver board.

Thanks for the response!
Display 3 is working perfectly.
R47 looks good, but I’ll check it’s resistance ASAP.
I was also given the suggestion to give the src resistors a bit of a wiggle, but that didn’t fix the f segments.

#5 5 years ago