(Topic ID: 161225)

Extremely dirty Airborne - Complete noob (first post)

By rmcelwee

7 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 11 posts
  • 9 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 years ago by Sammy31
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

img_(resized).jpg
zero14_(resized).jpg
zero07_(resized).jpg
airborne12_(resized).jpg
airborne13_(resized).jpg
airborne05_(resized).jpg
airborne03_(resized).jpg
#1 7 years ago

You can see the machine (it is REALLY dirty) and progress here:
http://www.lightweightmiata.com/arcade/airborne/

I am a complete noob when it comes to restoring pinball machines. I don't even know what the parts are called (just found out today what a pop bumper and mylar was). At first I thought I bit off more than I can chew with this Capcom Airborne pin because of the huge number of parts but I'm now thinking I can handle it. I've taken most of the playfield apart and want to start cleaning it and putting it back together. I have some Meguiar's Cleaner Wax and Show Car Glaze #7 I found in the garage and will use that after I clean it with some Novus #2. There are a few issues:

Mylar bumper shield coming up with dirt under it. I ordered some new pop bumper shields.

Broken ramp metal. I ordered a sheet of spring steel and will cut a new piece. There is a guy in town who has a rivot press and hopefully he will help me mount it.

Broken plastic. I'm thinking I can just use superglue unless you guys tell me it will ruin the clear plastic.

I will more than likely clean the hell out of this machine, fix everything and put it back together to sell it. It is just too nice for me to have sitting around. I'd rather have a cheaper machine here to play around with and one with less rare parts. I'd like to get top dollar for it so I want to put my time into doing a good job on the restoration. I do have a Future Spa and a Mr and Ms Pac-Man as well (both need restoring) to keep for myself.