Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 13 posts
  • 11 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 38 days ago by Atari_Daze
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_8996 (resized).jpeg
    IMG_6198 (resized).jpeg
    IMG_6174 (resized).jpeg
    #1 40 days ago

If you're on the main thread for the Foo Fighters owners, you've likely seen this setup of mine more than enough times, but I started playing around with the lights and set them to music reactive mode for the first time tonight.

I uploaded a brief video of the results to YouTube a moment ago:

As someone who has spent a lot of time and money on lighting effects for this game, this is possibly overkill even for me (even if the effect didn't look like it is celebrating Pride Month as this example appears to be), but would you consider it if it was a light show fully integrated with the topper and traditional expression lights?

The parts weren't super cheap, and installation is tricky. I think Stern (or any other manufacturer would have to modify the cabinet design to make installation supportable. This one involved banging the molding with the LED strips inside fairly stiffly with a mallet over and over. The potential for damage was high, but I made it work.

I have always played with the lights set to solid and static red, and they don't affect the playfield at all from a player's perspective. With Voodoo Glass, there's not much glare for a spectator, even when combined with black mirror side blades. Pictures of the glare effects look way harsher than they do in person.

What do you think? Has this been done before or even patented by Stern already? If not, how overboard vs. interesting would connecting the light show between side blades and toppers be to you, especially if it was a programmed show like expression lights?