DSCN9327 (resized).JPG
CBC2F329-033D-4CFA-99BC-31B79758390C (resized).jpeg
743B5ECB-32DD-4D95-9AD1-CBB54A983068 (resized).jpeg
28A08F6B-1250-41E6-B228-973AD9093236 (resized).jpeg
C25BE8E5-8BF7-47F6-8D88-C75C5D5D7278 (resized).jpeg
7FCF6DF6-9F86-40C6-BEDA-254760B3E447 (resized).jpeg
#1 2 years ago

Hi everyone,

I just got an Evel Knievel and am not quite sure what to do next in trying to get it to work. I've looked through a lot of other pinside posts that seem to address some of these issues, but really, I'm not really sure what to do next. This is the first game I've gotten that didn't work when I got it, and I'm a bit of a beginner at fixing things of this nature.

The previous owner (less experience fixing machines than even me) had it for 10 years and he never got it to boot up, although he tried. He noticed corrosion on the MPU board from the battery that was there, so he replaced it with a new alltek board, and that's about it. When he turned it on for me, the red 5V LED light on the board stayed on. I repinned some of the J4 connectors after I brought it home, and it booted.

Then I did something stupid: I saw a stray wire next to a chime coil and assumed it cracked off in transport to my house. I hooked it on and booted up the game and got to play! It was 30 seconds of awesome: everything seemed to work fine, but I can't be sure. The game just stopped, and I realized that (a) I shouldn't have connected that wire (I later found the coil to be bad), and (b) Fuse F4 blew. So I unhooked that wire, put a chime coil in my shopping cart, and replaced F4. There is also a new black charred area on the solenoid board that seems to be limited to just stuff very close to the R10 resistor (I am not skilled at reading schematics, but this seems to feed one of the chime coils, so this at least makes sense to me).