image-33 (resized).jpg
Screenshot_20200403-210121 (resized).png
20200331_205232 (resized).jpg
20200403_172330 (resized).jpg
20200403_172414 (resized).jpg
20200403_172517 (resized).jpg
20200403_172340 (resized).jpg
20200403_172348 (resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider BigAl56.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#7 4 years ago

Nice first game. Lets see photos of the circuit boards. Essentially interested if the original battery is still mounted on the MPU. At minimum you will need to be able to resolder the connectors on the board.

Think of your project as a 64 Mustang barn find. It sort of runs but were going to help you fix it up.

#17 4 years ago

First of all, as a former engineer I would absolutely love a project game like this!
You have all the symptoms of a classic Bally in need of an electrical overhaul. I recommend the following on the to do list...

* Rebuild the Power supply board. It needs new filter caps, and you should order replacement fuses for that board. the HV fuse hack is dangerous.
* Rebuild the rectifier board by the transformer. The existing is badly hacked up.
* As for the MPU, very likely the battery has leaked and damaged the board. At minimum you need to remove the battery and replace with an NVRAM chip. However, given the age, I recommend a new Alltech or Weebly replacement MPU.

I would start with the power supply. Recap the filter caps and replace the fuse with an actual fuse. That fuse is an odd duck size but you can buy replacements. They are available. Check the HV and try to adjust it to around 185v or so. Resolder the connector pins and the flipper relay connections.
From there replace the rectifier board with a new style and rebuild the connectors.
Along the way make sure the game boots and the voltages are correct. When you finish rebuilding the PS and Rectifier and the game still boots then rebuild or replace the MPU.

#19 4 years ago