Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 13 posts
  • 13 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 months ago by EJS
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic poll

“Which transition is more difficult for a first timer?”

• EM to SS 4 votes
      25%
    • SS to EM 12 votes
      75%

(16 votes)

#1 7 months ago

Every once in a while we see a post from someone who has a collection of SS games and has bought their first EM. Their intrepidation over how to troubleshoot the game has always been puzzling to me since you can physically see the “logic” in a EM game and all the individual components are accessible. It seems like this would be a natural progression but apparently not.

Since I don’t participate in the other forums on this site, I always wondered if there were similar posts from EM guys who bought their first SS game and if the transition is any easier. I have no experience with SS games, but when I see the inside I wouldn’t even no where to start other than the playfield switches. I suppose this is the same reaction of someone looking at an EM game for the first time.

Would be interested in hearing from others and comparing the experience between their first EM and first SS games.

#2 7 months ago

I think once you get accustomed to troubleshooting one or the other the transition is intimidating. I'm an EM guy and do enjoy some SS games. They always scare the crap out of me though. And the few I've had have been sold before they crapped out on me. It's scary to me that the potential issues are hidden in a component that may not show any defect. Like you say I like that I can physically see the logic in an EM.

#3 7 months ago

I find SS a lot easier to work with and troubleshoot. Pretty much everything is based upon on/off logic and mostly direct inputs/outputs.