(Topic ID: 89799)

EM suggestions: Best cowboy/western games for an em noob.

By Hougie

9 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 9 years ago

My parents have a few horses and kind of a western theme going on at their place. I am thinking about hunting for something for me and my dad to tinker with. I have zero experience with EMs but am interested in getting my feet wet. I would like to find something in the $500 or less price range. I/we like drop targets. Thoughts or suggestions?

#2 9 years ago

El Dorado or Quick Draw come to mind

#3 9 years ago

Could I ever find one of those in my price range though?

#4 9 years ago

Quick and Fast draws are all over the place. Last one I got it was $200, granted it needed alot of TLC and a new glass but atleast it was something to start with. I've got around $2000 into my keeper one, which I only paid $500 for. Its just how far you want to take something. Keep looking.

John P. Dayhuff
Battle Creek, Mi.
269-979-3836

#5 9 years ago

Good to know. I have just started to look, but I'm in no hurry. I have only bought fixers until my pin. Quick/fast draw does look like a good pin.

#6 9 years ago

I have a Bronco for 395 in VA.

#7 9 years ago

Besides what is mentioned above a few other good choices would be Lawman/Sheriff, Big Indian/Big Brave, and Dodge City. Flipper Cowboy is pricey and Wild Wild West, Bonanza & Coral are ok players. There's 50's western themed games like Silver, Straight Shooter, etc., that are hard to find and play slower than the 60's and 70's games.

#8 9 years ago

What are your thoughts on Flip Flop? Is it much of a player long term?

#9 9 years ago

If you're okay with a Horse Racing theme vs Western, the 1969 Williams Post Time (aka Paddock) is a fun game that I picked up for my father-in-law (racing fan) that he really enjoys. Fun game, plays fast, ok looking. Standup targets, but no drops: http://ipdb.org/search.pl?any=post+time&sortby=name&searchtype=quick#1853