IMG_6820 (resized).jpg
IMG_6821 (resized).jpg
IMG_6819 (resized).jpg
connector (resized).jpg
cleopatra wiring (resized).jpg
transformer (resized).jpg
IMG_20170909_120926486 (resized).jpg
coil (resized).jpg
There are 56 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
#1 6 years ago

I'm new to EM pinball machines.. I adopted a Cleopatra machine that has been sitting for a long time. It sat in my garage for about 10 months and before that in a basement for 30+ years.. I've already learned a few lessons, first and most important being dont touch things without knowing what they are, what they do or how they work..

When I first plugged the machine in and turned it on, playfield lights came on.. No backbox lighting at all. I triggered the coin mech and it took a credit. Things were clicking, cams were turning. I started pushing playfied switches and targets and they seemed to be responding. No scores recorded and the wheels didn't turn. I shut the game off and unplugged the game. I started looking closely at things, and noticed a few diode legs broken on some of the coils, so I resoldered these. Then, I started playing with the steppers.. I think this is where I really screwed up something. I started turning the cam on the credit stepper unit and I may have either over wound it, or somehow messed it up. It does seem to ratchet properly by pushing on the coils. It counts up to 4 then releases. After playing with that one, I want over to the main stepper control and started turning that a bit. I then went to the back box and started playing around in there, basically the same thing with the player unit.. On the bottom of the playfield, I was looking at the bonus stepper unit and on one set of horseshoes, the wire had broken off, so I soldered that back on. The other set of horseshoes doesn't have any wire connecting, but it does appear that there was something soldered there at one point.

After all that, I pulled out the wire harness connectors and wire brushed the pins.