View topic image gallery

Pinball (resized).png
IMG_0629 (resized).JPG
IMG_0634 (resized).JPG
IMG_0633 (resized).JPG
IMG_0631 (resized).JPG
IMG_0632 (resized).JPG
#1 4 years ago

I have what I thought was a perfectly functioning El Dorado, which I've owned for about a year, but recently saw another copy of it and noticed a key difference between them.

Issue on mine: when a game is started or a drop is knocked down, the inserts + pop lights quickly flicker. After playing the other one, I realized these bulbs are supposed to slowly turn off and then back on. Not the end of the world, but I'd like to correct this.

It almost seems like they are flickering in sync with the reels as they move. The game itself plays and scores correctly, and has never given me a single issue besides a stuck open slam tilt switch from transit. I'm guessing there is a short somewhere?

Any ideas are appreciated... obligatory "I am new to EMs" disclaimer, cheers.

FYI I have LEDs (comet retro 1 smd) in the inserts, and incandescent in the pops. I experimented with swapping out a row of drop inserts with incandescents, and no change in the behavior.

Video:

#2 4 years ago

There is a NC switch that opens on the score motor when it is turning. It turns off the playfield lights for the “WHEN LIT” features that only score when the score motor is stationary. I don’t have an El Dorado schematic, but it is switch 3D on some games. Make sure this switch is opening fully when the score motor turns.

#3 4 years ago
Quoted from leckmeck:

I don’t have an El Dorado schematic, but it is switch 3D on some games

It is indeed 3D.

#4 4 years ago

That sounds a lot more fun than re-wiring the insert chain, thanks wise sages!

I do have the schematic... I’ll check the gap and contacts on 3D, much appreciated.

1 week later
#5 4 years ago

Update: OOOPS

I adjusted switch 4d (3 is not used in El Dorado), and the lights smoothly turned off and on.

-however-