(Topic ID: 319445)

Eight Ball Deluxe LE- I'll start with my display problems I guess...

By DandyLion

1 year ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 13 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by DandyLion
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 1 year ago

Hi Everyone- picked up a EBD LE which looks to be a lot more of a project than I'd been hankering for, but I'm sure it will build my character real good.

And I'm pretty new at this, I am highly likely to annoy...

First effort was to find the reason for having no background sound- but to do this I need to have a working display to see the test audit info. So this is really about the display problems I'm having.

The display is semi functional- as it scrolls through the self-test though the segments are all wiggly-like, mis-displaying certain digits, apparently in the wrong order? The third digit (the hundreds digit) is missing. And at '8' and '9' the segments pretty much all disappear. Pics below to sort of indicate this.

The ball in play segment is the one I need to see the test audit number '18'. But after scrolling through the self-tests the displays all disappear though anyway so I can't tell if/when it gets to '18' which is what I need to reset the background sound.

I also hear the solenoid expander clicking intermittently (not consistently) as it progresses through the display test.
I reconnected the pins for the displays with some changes, but no real improvement.

Generally the game works: game boot-up seems fine with 7 LED flashes on MPU. S&T sound test seems fine for speech. Speech is fine during gameplay. I even hear that background sound at boot-up. But there is no background sound during gameplay, or other proper sounds. The display is jiggly though during gameplay, as the self-test might predict.

I have video showing this from '11111111' upward. Note '6's and '7's in the '2' and '3' spots respectively. Also, there is no '9' to show.