Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

186893082.png
_20190102_060250.JPG
_20190102_055757.JPG
20181231_113940 (resized).jpg
20181231_114000 (resized).jpg
20181231_114004 (resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider newbieinKC.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 5 years ago

Hey, everyone. New to the hobby. Bought my first machine at an auction with unknown provenance. I am an engineer, so I somehow passed Electrical Circuits in college, but I had zero interest in Electrical Engineering so I forgot most of what I once learned.

Everything on my machine seems to work except the (non-flipper) solenoids, which blow the 1A slo blo fuse underneath the playfield. This includes thumper bumpers, outholes, and drop targets.

I checked each solenoid for resistance and got 3-8 ohms or so across the leads, which I think is OK. The switches all test OK in test mode, so I don't think one is stuck closed. I had a fast-blow 1A fuse (slo blo's in the mail) for a quick test, and it blew immediately upon turning the machine on. Nothing even made a noise like it was trying to fire. I then checked the circuit to ground and the yellow wire to every solenoid shows about 163 ohms to the cabinet (ground), which to me sounds like a short. The other color wire from the solenoid gives me a slightly higher resistance measurement to ground. None of the other switches or lights show continuity to the cabinet (ground)

A few questions from here
1. Am I on the right track?
2. What do I do next, just start replacing wires or is there another diagnostic method to narrow it further?
3. If I start replacing wires, is it better to start from the last solenoid in the chain and keep testing for a short or the first in the chain and test for operation?

Thanks everyone in advance. Once I get everything cleaned up, I will post pictures like a proud father.

#5 5 years ago

Will try those. Busy day today, so won't get to it until at least tomorrow.

#6 5 years ago