(Topic ID: 275087)

eBay sellers- Who had "Managed Payments" shoved down your throat?

By tomdrum

3 years ago

Topic Stats

• 3 posts
  • 3 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by RacingPin
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider tomdrum.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 3 years ago

I've been selling on eBay for 20 years. Over the last 10 years it's mostly used Snap-On tools I find locally with about 10% pinball stuff. While I'm not a huge seller, it's usually $45-80K a year gross. I've been happy with PayPal receiving payments, having a PayPal MC that usually gives 1% back now 1.25% from my balance.

eBay has now forced me to use them for payment processing. Started Monday and they claimed you would get payments direct in your bank account in 2-3 days maximum. Sold $220 Monday. Today (Wednesday) I got an email that my 1st payment was being processed I should have it in my account in 3-4 days. WTF. PayPal was instant. Called today and bitched a storm. My sold items will be in my customer's mailbox before their payment will be in my bank account. I have managed retail stores and Visa, MC and Discover fund the next day, Amex is 3 days max. They fund your account after the midnight cutoff so you wait an additional day.

Drilling down the numbers, eBay did 2 Billion in sales 2nd quarter this year, an increase on 34% over same quarter LY. Each day they hold seller's payments equals easily 1.6+ million per day. With the processing fees they now collect, add another 16 billion per year. There isn't another platform I can sell on like eBay plus with 12K feedbacks, I have a ton of repeat buyers. There is a saying "you can shear a sheep many times but you can only skin it once".

I guess "it is what it is".

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider tomdrum.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.