• 11 posts
  • 9 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 months ago by flb_gulfstream
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

• Gigi Gottlieb, 1963
#1 11 months ago

I am going to look at a Gottlieb Gigi this week. The machine works and appears to be in good to very good condition (I've only seen photos and a video so far). The schematic is included with the machine. After doing some reading, I thought this might be an interesting machine to have.

I have done some research and it appears there is no instruction manual available for this machine. My limited experience with EMs is with my Williams Gulfstream and I feel the instruction manual for my machine is a valuable resource. The manual shows every switch setting for all of the relays in the machine. This usually gives me a good place to start looking whenever I have an issue. I am not good at reading schematics so I am concerned with maintaining/fixing the Gottlieb Gigi without a list of switch settings.

I did see that parts catalogs are available for purchase so one of those will be on my wish list.

Should I be concerned there is no instruction manual or should I just jump in and know that pinside.com members will always be there to help me out? I hate to be a burden but so far, the members in the forum have been extremely helpful. I don't want to "go to the well" for every little problem and wear out my welcome.

If anyone wants to give any thoughts, I'd be glad to hear it.

Thanks.

#2 11 months ago

Personally, I avoid Gottliebs because the documentation isn't freely available. If I want to help someone out I can't go to IPDB and look at the manual.

That said, EMs operate in a very similar manner. If you're skilled at one brand you're mostly competent at all of them. You'll learn schematics as needed, they aren't hard after a bit of practice. Pinwiki and Pinrepair.com both have excellent EM sections and there are several excellent techs on Pinside.