Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 14 posts
  • 11 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by gjm
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Towel (resized).jpg
    #1 1 year ago

I'm an EM novice. I've adjust switches, shopped games, replaced rubbers, changed coils, etc. Very basic stuff.

Long story short, I dropped a spring in the cabinet of a Fireball EM while working on the game. I've spent hours looking for the spring and cann't find it.

I'm now honestly afraid to turn on the game.

I see the playfield is only attached with one jones plug. Can I remove the playfield, turn on the game and press start with the playfield out?

I was thinking if I remove the playfield, I can first give it another good look to see if I can find the spring. Failing that, if I can start a game with the playfield out, I can see if there is an issue and quickly turn off.

That's my idea at this point. Good idea? Not good idea? Very interested to hear from a more experienced EM tech

#2 1 year ago

Removing the Playfield is probably gonna be more than one Jones plug I have four on my gottlieb‘s. That being said if you’re really concerned about the spring that’s a good way to start. If It was a gottlieb and I couldn’t find it and had another spring I would assume it’s underneath the lower mechanical board and start the game and roll the dice.

#3 1 year ago

Been there. Many times. Like Judoratt says it usually ends up under that bottom board where you can't see it. Sometimes you can get lucky by dragging a magnet under that board. If you've inspected all the relay switches and don't see anything, you are probably alright. Fuses are your friend.

#4 1 year ago