(Topic ID: 264373)

Dr. Who - New Owner, a few qs (upper flipper, reimport, time expander)

By Bospins

4 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 11 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by Xantari
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 4 years ago

Hi friends. I have a new-to-me Doctor Who as of last Sunday. It's a reimport pin (routed in Germany I think) that’s solid and all there but needs a little TLC. A few questions:

1) This is my first time buying a reimport. Anything to watch out for? Everything seems to work fine but the xfmr seems noisy and gets a little warmer than on my domestic market machines.

2) My mini play field (Time Expander) is completely non-op. I knew that going in. Turns out my motor controller board is hacked and fried, too far gone to repair, so I’m going to replace. My plan is to rebuild the Time Expander with new opto boards and carrier but I would like to check its operation first to see if I need to replace the motor and gearbox...is it pretty safe to do that with my replacement board or am I risking frying it?

3) My upper flipper is non-op, even in test mode. Upper flipper “Trigger” button registers in switch test. My plan is to replace all the fuses with new just to make sure that’s sorted...got to be that or something basic like a bad (open or shorted) coil, right? This is my first pin with opto flippers.

4) Any other tips tricks or quick hit things to do for this deck?

Thanks!!

#2 4 years ago
Quoted from Bospins:

Hi friends. I have a new-to-me Doctor Who as of last Sunday. It's a reimport pin (routed in Germany I think) that’s solid and all there but needs a little TLC. A few questions:
1) This is my first time buying a reimport. Anything to watch out for? Everything seems to work fine but the xfmr seems noisy and gets a little warmer than on my domestic market machines.