(Topic ID: 92329)

Does anyone use/have a generic "Bill of Sale" for a pin?

By Nimbus

9 years ago

Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 9 years ago by Nimbus
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 9 years ago

I am new to selling on Pinside, but have sold a few pins locally. So far it has simply been I get the cash and the individual gets the pin.

I recently sold a pin to a buyer who was more into the theme (Star Wars) than into pins. I don't have a problem with that, but when I went over the machine with the individual there were a LOT of questions. I gave him contact information for a couple local pinball techs in the area. But this got me to thinking, it might be good to have a "Bill of Sale" so the buyer doesn't come back and want a refund. I don't believe there would be any recourse for a cash sale - a sale is a sale, but you just never know. It is more of an issue of how much time something like that could take up. Time that I wouldn't want to waste. I was thinking that a "Bill of Sale" would at least be something that could be referred to if a buyer has buyer's remorse.

Probably just overthinking it because of this last buyer, but I am interested in other's thoughts?

#2 9 years ago

Google search terms "generic bill of sale" you should be able to find a suitable free form to print.

#3 9 years ago

I did when buying for business but have not when buying for home use.
    Always just kept it simple and wrote something up.

#4 9 years ago

I typically write a receipt and include the terms, 'as-is' and 'no expressed or implied warranty'. Include the date and dollar amount to avoid/minimize any future problems. You never know when that simple piece of paper will be needed.

Steve (in Escalon, CA)

#5 9 years ago

Other than buying new or getting the original on a HUO machine I've never asked or gotten...or been asked to give a receipt

#6 9 years ago