• Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Escape drivers (resized).jpg
Escape matrix (resized).jpg
#1 6 years ago

I recently got a Doctor Who machine in generally fine shape, but there is a problem that is driving me crazy. Most of the time, it doesn't successfully begin the W-H-O sequence. All lamps and switches are working properly; when the ball goes up the right ramp (W is lit), the machine knows that the ball has entered there, and the HANG ON lights up...but not the "H" (though the H lamp will light as part of various display sequences). And when the ball is sent up that chute, the switch identifies that the Hangon had been made, but the W-H-O does not continue and the O (top ramp) light. However, every now and then, it will start work fine for a while, and then stop. I looked for any poorly seated jumpers or chips, and haven't been able to find any. I'm not an electrical engineer, and don't know how to identify any errors in the solid state components or their programming! This unit came from Europe and was converted back to US, if that is at all relevant. I'd appreciate any suggestions. Thanks!

#2 6 years ago

Step one: When you say all the lamps and switches are working properly, did you test them in test mode?

#3 6 years ago
Quoted from CadillacMusic:

Step one: When you say all the lamps and switches are working properly, did you test them in test mode?

With a ball, not your finger?

#4 6 years ago

Yup, tested all switches with a ball, tossing it through the ramps where I couldn't reach. (Actually, not all lamps are working; the whole ESCAPE bank is off, but I figured that is something different and will get to that next.)

#5 6 years ago

If all the switches test ok, I'd look at the touch points on the power driver board. Clean power on the optos is kinda important. But check 'em all to be sure.