DM flashers not working.

By Turkey_Robinson

11 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 11 years ago

So I'm finally getting a multi-meter tomorrow which means I can now start diagnosing a few electrical issues I've been having with my machines. I wanted to post this now so I can get some helpful ideas on what to do once I get it.

First up, my DM has no flasher activity at all. I'm assuming I should check some fuses first? The flasher secondary fuse would be my guess, but then again, I'm still learning It doesn't work during test mode either.

I did a forum search for the problem and someone said "It could be the LM339 op amp/comparator or the 74LS74 IC has gone bad in the driver circuit for those flashers." Does that sound like a possibility?

thanks

josh

#2 11 years ago

first fuse and connectors

#3 11 years ago

Get yourself a WPC manual. It'll come in handy no matter what WPC game you have. Your regular manual should help you understand the flasher circuit and stuff, but the WPC manual helps you understand the boards.

Until then, check the following on your power driver board (upper right corner)...With the coin door closed, Led 5 should be lit.

The power comes in at J-102 and J- 104 or 105. Check fuse 111. Br-4 & C-11 converts Ac to Dc (you might have a cracked trace on the top side of the board or any of the J connector pins)

TP 7 should be about 20 volts dc. The flashers 20 Volts comes out J-106,7 &8 which are all tied together.

That's the hot side of the flasher circuit and probably where your problem is since none of 'em work.

Good luck!

#4 11 years ago

I do have the manual, which I've been reading over and trying to understand. Right off the bat I notice that LED 5 is not lit. What does that tell me?

#5 11 years ago

No led 5 = no 20 volts = no flashers. When you get your meter, Check the fuse (5 amp slo-blow). Wouldn't hurt to check all the flasher sockets, lugs & wiring too.