(Topic ID: 51376)

DE Star Wars - Switches are triggering unrelated solenoids

By cheezywhiz

10 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 10 years ago

Just got this machine. Looks like it took a few knocks in delivery and some weird stuff is happening. I'm not very experienced at this stuff, but I can use a multimeter and soldering iron and I'm decent at troubleshooting.

Most obvious symptom.. I get randomly ejected balls during game play and a lot of solenoid noise which I originally figured was the ball search kicking in because the trough switches were glitchy. I've gone through a bunch of tests including removing the apron verifying the switches are all working (with balls, not my finger), removing balls in the trough by hand to see if I can trigger the same machine response (I can't), and removing/testing/resoldering the right trough switch. Monitoring voltage on the right switch during game play, it seems to be working fine.

So what I originally thought was a bad switch now appears to be much more.. so I expanded my search and started manually triggering playfield switches. I now notice the following:

• Occasionally after launching a ball, the outhole kicker and the launcher will trigger.
  • Touching X-Wing spot targets will sometimes trigger the outhole kicker.
  • Touching inlane switches will sometimes trigger the launcher solenoid.
  • The pop bumpers sometimes cause an unrelated solenoid to fire when hit. The knocker perhaps? It's really loud.

When I say "sometimes trigger".. I mean that sometimes the game works normally.. then suddenly it goes into weird mode and I can make these things happen over and over.. (touch x-wing target and outhole kicker fires, for instance) until somehow the game just quietly reverts back to normal operation. "Weird Mode" happens pretty much every game.. but not every ball.